Our Leaders

President University

Handa S. Abidin, S.H., LL.M., Ph.D.


Before serving as the Rector of President University, Dr. Abidin had been a vice rector at President University since 2016. He has held various positions as vice rector, with his most recent role being Vice Rector for Academics. As an academic, he has research interest in international law and climate change law. He teaches courses inter alia: “International Climate Change Law”. His peer-reviewed book (monograph) entitled “The Protection of Indigenous Peoples and Reduction of Forest Carbon Emissions: The REDD-Plus Regime and International Law” is owned by the world’s top law schools: Harvard Law School (Harvard Law School Library), Yale Law School (Lillian Goldman Law Library), and Stanford Law School (Robert Crown Law Library). Dr. Abidin has been trusted by the Asian Legal Business (Thomson Reuters) as the judge of the prestigious ALB SE Asia Law Awards 2018-2023 and the ALB Indonesia Law Awards 2015 & 2017-2023. Dr. Abidin has three law degrees from three different countries: Indonesia, the USA, and the UK. He received his Sarjana Hukum (S.H.) degree from Universitas Indonesia, his Master of Laws (LL.M.) degree from the George Washington University Law School, and his Ph.D. degree from the University of Edinburgh Law School.

Dr. Adhi Setyo Santoso, ST, MBA

Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs, Research, and Innovation

Adhi earned his doctoral degree in Strategic Management from the Faculty of Economics, University of Indonesia, in 2019. He joined President University in September 2016 and has held various positions, including Director of Setsail BizAccel, the business incubator of President University, and Director of the President Research Center. In 2019, Adhi was selected as the Winner of the National Award for Outstanding Lecturers. In addition to his role as a lecturer in the Business Administration (S1) and Master of Technology Management (S2) programs, Adhi also serves as the CEO of BilineDEV.

Prof. Dr. Retnowati, S.Th., M.Si.

Vice-Rector for Resources

Prof. Retno obtained her doctoral degree in Social Anthropology from the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences, University of Indonesia. Prof. Retno is a daily lecturer in the Business Administration (S1) program, teaching courses such as Entrepreneurship, Human Capital, Corporate Entrepreneurship, and Business Ethics. Before being appointed as Vice Rector for Resources, Prof. Retno served as the Director of the Research and Community Service Institute at President University.

Prof. Dr. Ir. Chairy, S.E., M.M.

Vice Rector for Partnership

Attaining the title of Civil Engineering Engineer from the National Institute of Science and Technology, and a Bachelor of Economics degree from the Faculty of Economics, University of Indonesia. Obtaining a Master's degree in International Management and a Doctorate in Marketing, both from the Faculty of Economics, University of Indonesia.

Prof. Dr. Ir. Djoko Santoso, M.Sc.

Advisor for Rectorate

Professor at Institut Teknologi Bandung, Former General Director of Higher Education - Ministry of Education (DIKTI), Former Rector/President of Institut Teknologi Bandung and Universitas Indonesia

Ibnu Hadi M.Ec.

Advisor for Rectorate

Indonesian Ambassador to Vietnam (2016-2020)

AMB. Abdul Wahid Maktub

Advisor for Rectorate

Indonesian Ambassador to Qatar (2003-2007)

Prof. Ki-chan Kim

International Chancellor

Ki-Chan Kim is Professor of Management at Catholic University of Korea, South Korea, and Distinguished Professor at George Washington University, United States of America. Prof. Kim also served as President of the International Council for Small Business (ICSB), a global non-profit organization founded in 1955 and promote the development of small businesses around the world. Besides that, Prof. Kim was also assigned as Chairman of the Innovation Economy Division at the National Economic Advisory Council (NERC), an institution directly under the President of South Korea. Since early 2023, Prof. Kim was chosen as President of the University International Chancellor.